Wednesday, August 20, 2008

===> July 1 deadline $3,500 Tax Law Issues

Watch for the 2009 competition announcement at: The Theodore Tannenwald, Jr. Foundation for Excellence in Tax Scholarship and The American College of Tax Counsel.

Again, this post is for those working through their journal article, seminar article topic selections. $3,500 for first place; $2,500 (second); $1,500 (third).

A list of the 2007 winners and their article titles follows:

First Place
James Bamberg, University of Florida Levin College of law
Sponsor: Prof. Kristin Gutting
A Different Point of Venue: The Plainer Meaning of Internal Revenue Code Section 7482(b)

Second Place
David Kamin, New York University School of Law
Sponsor: Prof. Lily Batchelder
What's a Progressive Tax Change? Unmasking Hidden Value in Distributional Debates

Third Place
Joshua R. Mourning, Washington University in St. Louis School of Law
Sponsor: Prof. Cheryl D. Block
A Tax Policy Analysis of Congress's Labyrinthine Stock Option Tax Scheme

Honorable Mentions
Lora Cicconi, UCLA School of Law
Sponsor: Prof. Steve Bank
Blaming 162(m) for the Backdating Scandal: Legitimate Concerns or Scapegoating?