Monday, October 13, 2008

American Indian Law $1,000, $500, $250 -- 1/31/09

Winners of the 2008 Indian Law Writing Competition

  • First Place: David DeKorte - University of Michigan Law School - "Thirty Years After Oliphant, the Guardian Is Still Not Guarding: The Dual-Edged Nature of Parens Patrie"
  • Second Place: Jason Gubi - Fordham University School of Law - "The Religious Freedom Restoration Act and Protection of Native American Religious Practices"
  • Third Place: Maria E. Jones - University of California, Hastings College of the Law - "Defending Bear Butte: Past, Present, and an Uncertain Future in the Battle Against Sturgis Motorcycle Rally"


Papers will be accepted on any issue concerning American Indian Law. However, topics recently published in the American Indian Law Review will not be favored.


The competition is open to students at accredited law schools in the United States and Canada who are enrolled as of the competition deadline. Editors of the American Indian Law Review are not eligible.


First Place - $1,000 and publication of paper in the American Indian Law Review, an official periodical of the University of Oklahoma College of Law with international distribution. Second place - $500. Third place -$250. The three winning authors will receive Felix S. Cohen 's Handbook of Federal Indian Law, provided by LEXIS. Other entries of publishable quality may also be published in the American Indian Law Review. These authors will be so notified.


Submissions must be postmarked no later than January 31, 2009.


More details: